The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles publishes critical information for local motorists about the risks of driving under the influence. The state mandates fines, license suspension and other penalties for a conviction based on the severity of the offense.
Review these facts about DUI in Virginia if facing a court date for this charge.
Fines for DUI
The DMV reports a mandatory minimum DUI conviction fine of:
- $250 for the first offense
- $500 for the second offense
- $1000 for third offense or felony DUI, a category that includes cases involving serious accident injury or fatality
Driver’s license revocation
Motorists convicted of DUI typically lose driving privileges in Virginia for 12 months for the first offense and up to 36 months for the second offense. For a third offense, you could receive loss of driving privileges indefinitely. Some convicted individuals must also forfeit their state motor vehicle registration.
Breath test refusal at the scene of the arrest carries an additional one-year license suspension for the first offense and three years for the second offense.
The administrative suspension period starts at the time of DUI arrest. With no prior offenses, you must serve a seven-day suspension for blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. With one or more prior DUI convictions, the state may suspend your license until you attend your hearing.
Virginia requires the same penalties for DUI offenders younger than 21 as they do for drivers old enough to legally drink. This age group can also receive a six-month suspension simply for purchasing alcohol, even without a driving-related arrest.